hugsandcookies

Finding the Me in Mommy

Jennifer Crusie’s “Bet Me” is pretty much a sure thing

on February 14, 2012

Another book review!  First of all, I need to let you all know that this book is not new to me.  I’ve read it over, and over, and over.  I really wanted to write about a book that I love, and one that I hope any of you who are actually reading this, will love too.  Especially after the disappointment of the last book I reviewed.

So, “Bet Me” by Jennifer Crusie.  All of Crusie’s books are on my bookshelf.  That’s right, every single one.  And, don’t tell my husband, but I might have a few of them on electronic copy too.  Anytime I need a lift, one of her books does the trick. Like printed Prozac.  (Is Prozac even prescribed anymore?)

“Bet Me” has some of the best characters you’ll find in any fiction novel.  I enjoy all of Crusie’s characters, but there is something about Min Dobbs that just makes me feel like I want to know her, or I do know her, or heck, maybe I am her.   She is so real, slightly neurotic and worried about her weight.  She meets a gorgeous man who falls for her instead of the skinny chick.  And Crusie makes you believe it could happen!  He thinks she’s hot, he feeds her doughnuts, he stands up to her mother.  That works for me.  If I’m going to fantasize, its probably going to be about a man cleaning house and bearing cheesecake rather than Fabio.  Maybe one who lets me sleep in and changes all the diapers.  Or one who…never mind, I’m getting a little sidetracked here.

Another character in this book whom I adore is Harry.  I have a soft spot for little boys, can’t imagine why, but watch for him and I think he’ll steal your heart too.

If you’ve never read anything by Jennifer Crusie, if you don’t read romance, if you think you simply can’t find time to read, consider this my Valentine’s Day gift to you.  Read this book!  It will improve your day.  And seriously, what beats that?


2 responses to “Jennifer Crusie’s “Bet Me” is pretty much a sure thing

  1. Jen says:

    I’m going to have to check her out. I’m always looking for new (to me) authors!

  2. Jen, all of her books are worth reading. If I were you, I would start with Bet Me or Welcome to Temptation. They are both on my top 10 light reads sticky note. Yes, I really have sticky notes on my bookshelf. I’ve said before, I’m a dork.

Leave a Reply

