hugsandcookies

Finding the Me in Mommy

I need a Pause button!

on February 9, 2012

The silliest things have made me feel sad today.  My little boy (who isn’t so little anymore, really) started soccer yesterday.  He looked so big in his little shorts with the shin guards.  I know that he’s growing quickly, but I’m not altogether thrilled with those circumstances that force me to face the fact.  On top of that, my baby can now touch his toes to the bottom of the bassinet while his head is touching the top, so we had to put together the crib.  Yet another reminder of how fast time goes by.

Obviously, change happens.  Kids grow.  I know that and I want my kids to grow up, healthy and happy.  But, man, does it have to happen in the blink of an eye?  I’m feeling all sorts of guilt (I think I’ve mentioned that Catholic school girl guilt before) about any time I’ve ever complained about my kids driving me crazy, or needing a break, or needing sleep more than snuggles.  Again, I know that kids will be kids (read: monsters), that moms need some time to themselves, and that I’m not superhuman enough to survive without sleep.  But, still.

So, I’m going to go color with one while rocking the other.  And if I cry a tear or two, I’m going to try to claim that they are tears of poignancy instead of sadness.


5 responses to “I need a Pause button!

  1. Leigh Evans says:

    I remember that day. It goes fast. Enjoy!

    Let this be your first comment of the day:-)

    Leigh (from Argh)

  2. Kate Geoerge says:

    I’m over here from Argh too. Leigh beat me to being the first to make you happy, but oh well. My “babies” are 18, 14, 14, and almost 12 now. It does go fast, but you’ll enjoy all the different stages. Sad is okay, but try and let the guilt go. It doesn’t serve any useful purpose!

  3. Aww, you ladies are awesome! Two comments are even better than one 🙂
    I’ve been running around like the proverbial chicken today and I’m just now getting an opportunity to respond. Thank you, thank you, thank you for reading and commenting. I’m feeling less sad today, the cuddle time yesterday made everything better.

  4. Jen says:

    I keep forgetting to check in since I talk to you pretty much daily! I don’t have the toddler version, but I am FREAKING out that O is going to be six months old in two days. How does that happen? I know little A isn’t far behind. Sigh and tears.

    • So, so true. He will be 6 months in less than a week. How did that happen? I think it gets even stranger as they get older, though. Just this week, C has started saying “th-ree” instead of “fwee” when people ask his age. I certainly don’t want him saying “fwee” at 33, but why does it happen so quickly?

Leave a Reply

