hugsandcookies

Finding the Me in Mommy

What’s cookin’, baby?

on February 3, 2012

I have taken on the grand adventure of making my own baby food.  During the time that my toddler was an infant, I was working outside of the home and it never occurred to me that I COULD make his food.  This time, I’m home and ready to a) save some money, and b) know exactly what is going in his mouth.  (Other than his hands, his toys, his blanket, his shirt, well, you know.)

I know there are many differing opinions about baby food purees.  I believe that every family makes the choice that suits their needs, and I’m only talking about my own experience.  So, no arguing, name-calling or hair-pulling on this subject.  I have a toddler, remember?

We started with carrots.  I peeled, cut and steamed a couple of carrots.  They were beautiful, perfectly ripe carrots because they came from the Bountiful Baskets co-op.  Hmmmm, maybe they should sponsor my blog.  I seem to advertise for them often enough!

Anyway, back to carrots.  I tried my food processor first.  It was a pain in the neck, not to mention an area distinctly south of there.  Then I took the half-mushed, grainy looking orange concoction and put it in the blender.  All it did was stick.  At this point, I was thinking that this making my own baby food business was getting complicated.  I may have cursed my food processor a time or two (under my breath of course), before I remembered the stick blender.  Success!  Carrot puree.

My son is a hilarious eater. It is physically impossible for me to spoon the food in his mouth as quickly as he would like.  Between every bite as I refill the spoon at warp speed, he lets out this loud, very irritated squawk.  And if I’m not holding his hands (which I’ve gotten very good at), he immediately shoves a fist in his mouth.  Apparently, he thinks that might satisfy his hunger.  Personally, I’d rather have a Snickers.

We’ve now tried apples, bananas, the infamous carrots, sweet potatoes, avocado, green beans, and peas.  I’m awfully proud of myself for making each and every one of the foods he’s eaten, although I might have quit the first day if I didn’t own that stick blender.

I can’t wait to try the meats, fish, and combinations.  I never thought I would be excited about making, looking at, or smelling, beef puree, but there it is.

No, I’m not crazy.  I’m a Mom.


Leave a Reply

