hugsandcookies

Finding the Me in Mommy

Beer. It’s what’s for dinner.

on January 20, 2012

Yep, you read that right.  I’m part of a recipe sharing group on Facebook and there was a very intriguing recipe posted for Bisquick Beer Bread.  You use about half of a beer, and it’s Friday, so I figured it was the perfect night to drink the rest.

Well, then I googled the recipe to see if there were any reviews or hints or variations (it’s a compulsion, honestly).  I didn’t find any, but I saw a recipe for Beer Braised Crockpot Chicken.  While this recipe ruined my plans for a pre-dinner drink, it looked so good I just had to try it.  This one I did modify, a lot, because there were some ingredients I didn’t have, and it didn’t seem like it would have quite enough flavor without some additions.

I love crockpot meals.  My baby is always at his fussiest right when I’m trying to prepare dinner.  I just know he does it on purpose because whatever I’m making, he can’t eat anyway.  So, I can pull a fast one and trick him if I use the crockpot.

This was a good one.  As I was making the sauce, it smelled suspiciously like red beer and I wondered about eating red beer chicken.  But the flavors blend seamlessly into a sort of barbeque sauce.

As for the Bisquick Beer Bread, this is a recipe for which I have no suggested improvements.  Go ahead, read that again.  It may be the only time it is ever typed as part of this blog.  I loved it, and I plan to make it again and again and again.  Carolyn, your recipe is in a very small group of those that I didn’t alter. Thank you!

And you have my absolute permission (as long as you’re over 21, and I’m pretty sure anyone younger than that has more exciting things to do than reading my blog on Friday night) to open a second beer and drink up while cooking.  TGIF!

Beer Braised Crockpot Chicken

  • 4 to 6 chicken breast halves
  • 1 cup ketchup
  •  1 to 2 TB chili powder (I think, the more the better)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 TB prepared mustard
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 6 oz beer (I used MGD, but this would be really good with a stout beer)
  • 2 celery stalks, cut into medium sized pieces
  • 3 to 4 carrot sticks, cut into medium sized pieces
  • 3 to 5 red potatoes, cut in quarters
  • 1 medium sized onion, sliced
  • Dash each, salt and pepper
  • 2 TB butter or margarine, softened
  • 2 TB flour

Place onion, potatoes, carrots and celery in the bottom of your crockpot.  Season chicken with salt and pepper, place on top of vegetables.  Mix remaining ingredients together until blended.  Pour over chicken.  Cook on low for at least 5 hours.  Wait!  I know it sounds like you’re done, but you’re not.  The original recipe said to add flour straight to the sauce, but anytime I’ve ever done that I’ve ended up with clumpy gross sauce.  So I used a buerre manie, which means kneaded butter in French, and is pretty much just a last minute roux.   In a small bowl, add flour to margarine and use a fork to mix it into a paste.  Add it to the crockpot in spoonfuls, stir, and cook another 30 minutes so it thoroughly blends in and thickens the sauce.

I’m not even going to guess how many helpings this actually is.  It fed 2 of us, because my husband ate three helpings.  I guess he enjoys beer for dinner!

Bisquick Beer Bread

  • 2 cups Bisquick
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 6 oz beer (again, I used MGD, but I think a stout would be awesome)

Mix Bisquick, sugar and beer together until they form a dough.  Place in a greased loaf pan.  Cover and let sit until it doubles in size, about 30 minutes.  Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.

I baked this early in the day because I didn’t want the beer to go flat after I opened it for the chicken.  About 30 minutes before dinner time, I spread butter on the top and put in back in the oven at 300 degrees for about 10 minutes.  Warm, buttery, goodness.  I think this tastes like a really dense sourdough with crumbly edges.

This bread is so good that I just had some for a snack a few minutes ago.  And let me tell you, it was made for garden vegetable cream cheese.  I’ve always said I love cream cheese on anything.  Apparently, that includes beer.


Leave a Reply

